Good News From Kindle Direct


Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) announced today that the minimum thresholds for payment to publishers and authors who are using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) has been eliminated.

In an email delivered December 16, 2013, they state:

As of December 16, 2013, the minimum threshold amount has been removed for accounts selecting Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) as their payment method.* You will now be paid 60 days after the month your royalties are earned without needing to meet a minimum threshold amount prior to receiving payment.

The asterisk indicates the following note:

*Note: The EFT threshold for royalties earned from sales on is still R$20 for Brazilian publishers and $100/£100/€100 for non-Brazilian publishers.

 This is great news for those who have sold Kindle versions of their books but have not reached the minimum thresholds that were previously in effect.

The KDP website has not been updated at the time of this writing to reflect this–at least my account doesn’t show a change. If I understand correctly, this development will apply to all Kindle Direct stores where EFT is the payment choice.

I have sent a query to KDP to confirm this and will update here when I receive a response. (Leave a comment or subscribe to the post feed at the top right of this page to receive the update)

It will be interesting to see if there are also modifications for other countries where EFT was not available for publishers outside of those countries. (Mexico and Australia)

This is great news. Hopefully, Createspace (an Amazon company that produces Print on Demand (POD) books for Amazon) will follow suit.

UPDATE December 18, 2013: I received the following response from Kindle Direct Publishing.

The EFT  threshold for royalties earned from sales on is still R$20 for Brazilian publishers and $100/£100/€100 for non-Brazilian publishers.

With this said, the new threshold policy applies to all marketplaces except

My Books



Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>